FORUM

Home Page Forums Darwin’s Ark Will there be new surveys and/or longitudinal studies

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Maxine-Morris
    Participant

Hi! I just joined this project, and though I am waiting for a free kit now, I may just go ahead and purchase one in the near future. I am a science teacher and I really believe that this type of project is super cool and needed. Also, the fact that you are doing open science is awesome. After working in materials science research as a grad student, I got really frustrated at how all of the research groups were working against each other and keeping data and scientific methods secret just to try to be better than other researchers. What you guys are doing here is awesome and I hope more scientists, research groups, and companies work to make science more shareable.

So being a nerd, I am interested in what your plans are for the future. Though your current surveys are great, I am wondering if Darwin’s Dogs is going to be adding new surveys over time as new questions arise or if you are thinking about adding surveys that people take thoughout their dog’s lifetime to see how genetics influences a dogs life over time. My dog is just over a year old (I think?), and though I know you won’t be likely to tell me specific results about my dog life, I would definitely be willing to participate in a study like that.

Anyways, thanks for what you do! I am excited to see how this grows.

brittney logan
    Keymaster

Hi Maxine,

First off, thank you so much for your kind words and support! We truly believe in open science, and we are happy to share how this research works.